Meat Liquor – A Vegetarian’s Dirty Secret

I’m late to the blogging party on two accounts. Firstly ok, I’ve been busy “reading” during reading week. And by “reading” I mean catching up on sleep and watching too much of Sun, Sea and Suspicious Parents on BBC3. (I seriously regret not going on a “lad’s holiday” to Ayia Napa now.)

Secondly, I am so late to finally recommend one of my favourite new restaurants in London: the infamous Meat Liquor that has a 2 hour queue every night after 6pm. (Yes, seriously, 2 hours at 6pm.)

As a vegetarian I have to admit even agreeing to go to a restaurant called Meat Liquor in the first place was pretty weird. But hey, if anyone asks I was trying to be ironic in a “cool East London way”.

Nevertheless, I felt like I experienced the true greasy, salty, about to burst, after-shock that anyone who goes to Meat Liquor is bound to experience.

To start with I had the deep fried pickles – something I’m not used to at all but heard were very good. They definitely lived up to expectation. They were served with a blue cheese dip and even though covered in grease, I remember being so engrossed in the food that I didn’t even talk to my friend whilst I ate.

Deep Fried Pickles and Blue Cheese Dip (From Burgerac)

Next I had the Halloumi Shroom burger that was far from any regular veggie burger – mostly because as I ate it, black grease liquid dripped down my fingers. As far as I was concerned, I felt like one of the others eating a meaty greasy burger! So good is the Halloumi Shroom burger that my meat eating friend sometimes orders it for a change! Though, another favourite amongst meat eaters is the “Dead Hippie Burger” that many people struggle to finish.

The Dead Hippie Burger (From Embell)

As for the liquor part of Meat Liquor. They have a long list of cocktails with all kinds of funny names (such as “Time of the Month” – but if you want that one, just point and say “I want that one, please!” it’s so much less embarrassing). Cocktails are adorably served in jam jars.

From foodepedia

The Ceiling (From burgerac)

Part of the appeal of Meat Liquor is its laid back, cool atmosphere. The food is served on trays, you don’t get plates. You’re lucky to get a knife and fork.  Instead of napkins, there is kitchen roll on every table. It’s candlelit and loud thumping rock music plays. The interior is covered in graffiti and art.

But a significant part of the appeal for me is the price. I have never paid more than £10 for my meal and I’ve always left nursing a “food-baby”. And for just off Oxford Street, I cannot stress enough how cheap this place is. It’s a real student friendly place.

No wonder the 2 hour queues – all of London wants to try delicious affordable Meat Liquor. I recommend arriving very early or very late, i.e. 5pm or 11pm. They have a strict door policy and they don’t take reservations. Their policy is if someone is inside waiting for you at a table, you will have to queue to get in, “EVEN if your friend / date / boss / probation officer / master / gimp is already inside.” So arrive early because it’s definitely worth it!

Meat Liquor, 74 Wellbeck Street, London, W1G 0BA, (open Tuesday-Saturday).

8 thoughts on “Meat Liquor – A Vegetarian’s Dirty Secret

  1. Pingback: Fast Food With a Difference: The Effortlessly Cool MEATmarket « Those London Students

  2. Pingback: Honestly Amazing: Honest Burgers Moves to Soho « Those London Students

  3. Pingback: Goodbye London! « Those London Students

  4. Pingback: Making the Most of Freshers in London | Those London Students

  5. Pingback: Neither Prague nor London: Christmas & New Year in England | Those London Students

  6. Please let me know if you’re looking for a author for your weblog. You have some really good articles and I think I would be a good asset. If you ever want to take some of the load off, I’d love to
    write some material for your blog in exchange for a link back to mine.
    Please send me an email if interested. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

