Goodbye London!

I’m going to Charles University!

So this is probably going to be one of my last posts from London for about a year. In September I will be moving to Prague and studying history as an Erasmus student at Charles University. I’m really excited about living in a new city and having the opportunity to experience a new culture in one of the most beautiful cities in the world. But I’m also very sad to be leaving London behind. In my first year everyone said that your first year was for getting to know your university campus and your second year was when you got to know the real London. This was definitely true for me. After my second year I now feel like I know all the really cool places to eat, drink and hang about and I’m no longer terrified to go a bit further out of Central London to try somewhere new.

Here’s some of the things I am really going to miss about London:

The amazing view from my balcony. I don’t think I’ll ever be able to find a place as cheap/student budget friendly with such a great view again.

Mmm

Cupcakes from Chewie’s, a bakery that I spent a lot of time revising (and mostly eating) in during my exams this year. Who says revision cannot be both tasty and productive?

Victoria S.

The absolutely massive slices of Victoria Sandwich they give you at Tapped & Packed. This was most definitely my favourite find of this year. This tiny independent coffee shop is a stone’s throw away from the Roxy, a nightclub that many a UCL  student can barely remember.

Flat White

The coffee at Tapped & Packed. Ok, I also drink a lot of coffee and I always take my friends to this place for coffee dates.

Faris Badwan from The Horrors signed my arm!

Me and Matt Smith

Bumping into your favourite celebrities/musicians anywhere and everywhere. Even though it’s a huge place, London can seem so small. I’m forever bumping into Dominic Cooper. But my favourite celebrity spot was Doctor Who last week.

Soho matches

Soho. In general. Anything goes. Great restaurants. Amazing for people watching.

My bus stop

How frequent/reliable transport is. I know people love to complain about tube maintenance and delays, but when you grew up in a small village that had one bus into town every hour, and none on a Sunday, you really appreciate the regularity of the London Transport system. And anyway, look how scary the Prague transport map looks:

Ahhh!

Seriously, who puts the underground and the trams on the same map together? How does that even work?!

Sunny Primrose Hill

My favourite place to escape – Primrose Hill. There’s no where better for a dog lover to escape the hustle and bustle of London. Primrose Hill is like my home away from home. I’ve already planned to replace it with Petřín Hill in Prague.

Really big dog on the tube

The strange and interesting people on the tube. Like this old man who brought his really huge dog on the tube. The dog went and sat down in front of the fold up seats and refused to move for an old lady. Someone should teach it tube etiquette!

Also, I don’t want to forget what seems to be like a regular occurrence nearly every Friday/Saturday night on the underground around 9pm, when the passengers are a little tipsy and it’s guaranteed that someone will attempt to pole dance on the tube.

Halloumi and cheese fries

The halloumi shroom burger and the cheese fries at Meat Liquor. Mmm. Me and a friend used to have Meat Liquor Mondays. No wonder I ended up having weird vivid nightmares Monday nights after all that cheese.

The view of Prague from the top of Prague Castle

I’m still going to blog using this url, but I’ll be posting about places in Prague and university experiences until my return to London, when I will be blogging as a true London student again!

10 thoughts on “Goodbye London!

  1. I just want to say I am just very new to blogging and site-building and absolutely liked this blog. More than likely I’m going to bookmark your website . You definitely come with great posts. Thank you for revealing your website page.

  2. You will absolutely love Prague! The metro system and tram system are so easy to navigate. The beer is phenomenal, and so is the food. I’ll get to work on a list of favorite restaurants, clubs/bars, and places to visit. I’m quite excited to live vicariously through you!

    • Oh, I’m so glad! After my freak out about the metro/tram everyone has come back to reassure me it’s really very easy. I think it just looks very scary.

      And I’m really looking forward to your list of recommendations! 🙂 xx

      • Let me put it this way: where I come from, our public transportation consists of a bus, walking, biking, or taxis and even I could figure it out 🙂

        Prague only has 3 metro lines (a fourth being added in a few years) that are really easy to navigate. The trams are super easy, too!

      • I think when they just put it all on the same map it freaked me out! But it shouldn’t have, as the London underground map looks like that anyway with just trains on.

  3. hi, I’m french so sorry for my English. I wanted to know where you met Matt Smith? thank you for your response and good luck in Prague.

Leave a Reply

