The Big Move: Prague Prep

Bon voyage!

Everything is packed and ready for my move to the Czech Republic, this Wednesday. (Unfortunately I have to wake up at a really awful time on Wednesday morning in order to get to the airport for a 7am flight. Oh man, why?!)

It’s been really difficult for me to fit everything into one suitcase. I’ve had to cut back on so many essentials – like cute teddy bears, books and DVDs. Also the suitcase is extremely heavy and it’s going to be such a pain to lug to my halls of residence. But I shouldn’t be complaining, I think living in halls again for another year will be really fun.

I will sharing my room at halls with a roommate who I don’t know yet. I’m very nervous about sharing a room with someone else (I have luckily never had to do so before) as I’m not sure how some of the little things will work out – like waking each other up in the morning and if I have to go to bed early if they want to, and if they bring someone over… It’s going to be very strange.

But my hall works out to be incredibly cheap. It’s about £17/week. Whereas UCL was maybe £150/week in halls. Can you believe that?! I intend to save all my money up for traveling Europe. (I’ve already started googling train tickets to Berlin!)

I think I’ll have enough money anyway though, we have practically been scared off buying any kinds of alcohol by the Erasmus team at Charles University. For those who don’t know what has happened, 19 people have died and 24 have been hospitalised (as of 13th Sept) in the Czech Republic from drinking counterfeit vodka and rum which contained high levels of methanol. Scary!

I don’t want to end this post on a total downer,  so here’s some phrases in Czech I hope will come in handy:

Hello – Ahoj (like how a pirate says ahoy!)

Good day – Dobry Den

Please – Prosím

Thank you – Děkuji

Excuse me – Promiňte

I’m a vegetarian – Jsem vegetariánka.

This gentleman will pay for everything – Všechno zaplatí tento pán (Just in case I have to make a quick getaway)

4 thoughts on “The Big Move: Prague Prep

  1. So exciting! I’m still rounding up my list of favorite places to eat/visit/go out in Prague for you. I hope to have them within the next few weeks 🙂 You should also learn:
    Kolik stojí (pronounced: co-leek stow-yee) – how much is it
    Jak se rekne (yak say reck-nay) – how do you say
    They’ll be helpful for shopping!

    Do you know where about you’ll be living yet? I’m so excited (and a little jealous) for you! Have a blast!

    • Haha, thank you! Those are some very useful phrases!

      I’m living in a hall called kolej Hvezda, in Prague 6. It’s pretty grim and looks very old. But it has a nice character! 🙂

Leave a Reply

