I want to move to Budapest

St. Stephen’s Basilica

The biggest synagogue in Central Europe

London has a rival: Budapest. Everything I love about London, I found in the capital of Hungary. Great coffee (including flat whites), a ton of vintage clothing shops, houmous, restaurants that do brunch, the use of Time Out, and beautiful huge city parks. I’m in love.

First let’s talk about my favourite thing and the object of many TLS blog posts: coffee.

My Little Melbourne

We went to a small coffee shop that reminded me of Workshop Coffee Co. in London, they had the same menu and same chairs and tables. They were still renovating their coffee shop, so everything wasn’t finished. But they were clearly making a real effort with the coffee over the design. There was a flat white on the menu, so I ordered one of those and yes, it was just as good as the ones in London. But the baristas at My Little Melbourne really make an effort to make the coffee look nice, so everyone got a pattern on their flat white. It was very cute.

Flat White: Yum!

Europeans seem to really like coffee specialities: that’s coffee with whipped cream, syrup, chocolate, whatever. In a different cafe I tried an ‘After Eight Caffe’ which was espresso, chocolate syrup, mint syrup and whipped cream. It was green and amazing.

After Eight Caffe

Brunch:

On the first day I ended up in the right place at the right time. I was looking for breakfast but walked into a bar instead. The waiter, a young guy looking very bored about the fact that only 50 years old came into the bar, took pity on me and suggested a really great brunch place his sister worked at.

I did not expect it to be this good. But it was a really great deal. For 1450 huf (£4.13) you got a choice of drink, a main course and a dessert from the brunch menu. (So unbelievably cheap!) Now look what the food looks like for that price:

Huevos Rancheros at Anker Klub

French Toast

Chocolate brownie with mascarpone and banana

Oh London, it would be about £15 for that quality for brunch. The place is called Anker Klub and it is a bar/restaurant/club. It’s also opposite some very good vintage shops/flea markets.

Shopping:

Unfortunately Prague is not very good with cool vintage shops. They are a little behind. Budapest on the other hand has a ton of vintage shops. For some reason they think this is a British thing, so most of the second hand shops have a picture of the Union Jack on their sign. I don’t know why.

I ended up buying a lot of things, including these custom made shoes from a shoe shop called Siberia:

I’m so happy with my new shoes!

The shoe shop is probably considered expensive by Budapest standards. I ended up paying £60 for these shoes. But considering the fact I never buy anything in Prague expect for food and drinks, and well £60 for shoes like this is definitely not what you’d pay in London! (This is my reasoning for everything that is expensive East European standard.)

Bars:

Graffiti in one of the bars

Budapest has several ‘ruined bars’ which are bars that are run down, falling apart, don’t have roofs and are unsafe to live in. However, they have a bar in them. One of the ones we went to called Szimpla was huge. It had different floors, old computer monitors, cables, electric whisks hanging from the ceiling, and dancefloors covered in fairy lights and cables. As well as big screens playing old movies. It was so cool. Unfortunately I only had time to go to one of these ruined bars, but there is a whole street of them that I intend to check out next time!

Sightseeing:

The buildings of Budapest are a lot like Prague or Vienna, they have huge beautiful blocks of buildings with fine little details. I would say of what I saw of Budapest, it is less coloured than Prague or Vienna, but it is just as beautiful.

We walked to the city park which looked like the entrance of Hyde Park at Hyde Park Corner.

Heroes Square, in the city park

The park had a little castle inside.

The castle from a distance

The castle architecture

Next to the castle

Across from the castle

The king of the castle

Photos from inside the park:

Pretty streetlights

Bit creepy: statue of anonymous

We also walked to liberty bridge which was a big green bridge with a ‘statue of liberty’ on a cliff in the distance.

Liberty bridge

The view from the bridge

The cliff with the statue of liberty

Finally, I also walked around the chain bridge and a palace I can’t remember the name of (I’m a terrible tourist, I know!):

Chain bridge at night

Mosaic roof

Little bits of history:

I also spotted a trabant car on the street. This was a car that was made in East Germany during the Communist era. It was very slowly produced and people were put on waiting lists for them.

Trabant in Hungary

They Love Dogs:

It seems like Central/Eastern Europe loves dogs. Dogs are everywhere. They are on the metro, they are on the trams, they are in the restaurants and the bars. This rule didn’t stop for Budapest. Two dogs ran around us whilst we ate brunch in Anker Klub. A massive Dulux dog came and helped me pick out shoes in Siberia shoe shop.

Dogs at brunch with Katie

Dulux dog in the shoe shop

That’s it for the huge amount of pictures of Budapest I have. I hope you understand why I want to live there and why London has a rival! If you ever get the chance, visit Budapest. It’s very cheap, feels very safe and it’s very easy to navigate.

18 thoughts on “I want to move to Budapest

  1. I love and miss Budapest! I got to live there for a couple months and loved every minute of it. Did you maybe visit Buda Castle? It has a similar view of the chain bridge to your picture.

  2. Ilike this article because i live in Hungary , near Budapest , and I’m so happy cause you like it so much 🙂 I always read about “Hungary is shit, poor country”, but when I read your text and saw the pictures, I became proud of my country. Even so, I want to live in London *-* 🙂

  3. I love your photo documentation of your trip to Budapest! I was there for a few days while studying abroad and I really loved it. Also, what’s a flat white? I’m quite curious!

  4. Would love to go there. Love the eastern countries in Europe. The interesting and sad history and all the beautifully restaurated buildings. This summer I fell in love with blue Nice and last year I fell in love with Alba Iulia in Romania. Prague was so beautiful. I love to go to Berlin too. It just so little time and so much to see.

    Here you can read about some of my recent trips:
    http://www.besttripever.wordpress.com

  5. Reblogged this on Best trip ever and commented:
    Don’t miss this blogpost if you are looking for where to go: “Budapest has several ‘ruined bars’ which are bars that are run down, falling apart, don’t have roofs and are unsafe to live in. However, they have a bar in them. One of the ones we went to called Szimpla was huge. It had different floors, old computer monitors, cables, electric whisks hanging from the ceiling, and dancefloors covered in fairy lights and cables. As well as big screens playing old movies. It was so cool.”

  6. Hi! I’m so glad to read this, since I’m Hungarian (however I live in Russia now).

    Did you know that Szimpla Kert (ruined bar you’ve visited) is elected as the 3rd best bar of the World on Lonely Planet? The second best is in Rotterdam, BUT the first is also in Budapest, A38 hajó, which is a standing boat on Danube river. (check LP website)

    Welcome back to Budapest!

  7. Dear Bryonie! I shared your post about my beloved city on my facebook page, because I liked it a lot (actually I found it cute as well)! …and just a note: Budapest love you too. 🙂

      • You’re welcome. 🙂 BTW my sharing became very popular since. More & more shares. 🙂 Next time when you’re in Budapest, drop me a line, I can show you really special places, even native people rarely known them. 🙂

      • Thanks so much! I was there two weeks ago visiting again. I absolutely love the city. I hope to go again before I move back to London. Prague is close…

  8. I lived in Budapest for over 20 years and I am very happy you liked the town! Your post makes it sound quite cool, which it is… but, of course, like any other place it has its own problems and I think that the day-to-day life there is incredibly difficult and unfair… but it doesn’t make the city any less beautiful 🙂

Leave a Reply

