Neither Prague nor London: Christmas & New Year in England

Tips cup at the Santa's Grotto in Shoreditch

Tips cup at the Santa’s Grotto in Shoreditch

So I haven’t blogged in a while. Since late November and December I was writing lots and lots of essays and exam papers. (Luckily I chose courses I already knew a little bit about, so I had an easy time – I recommend this to everyone going on a year abroad!)

For Christmas and New Year I came back to England with an American friend I met in Prague, Katie. I said that I would show her around London and true to my word, we spent the first 3 days back in the capital. And we didn’t see (or taste) everything. I immediately decided the best thing to do was to get the sight-seeing out of the way, once that was done I showed her some of my favourite coffee shops and food places. I managed to put on more weight in London over those 3 days than I did in the first term in Prague. We got cinnamon buns at the Nordic Bakery, burgers at Honest Burgers, cheese fries at Meatliquor, Vietnamese pho at Camden’s Thanh Binh, huevos rancheros at The Diner and coffee at my favourite place on Brick Lane, Full Stop. And that’s not everything we ate.

The rest of the holidays we spent in Northampton with my parents, Oxford for a day trip and Windsor for another day trip. But we mostly watched a lot of TV and films and I finally finished watching the entire Breaking Bad series (omg).

Here’s some of my pictures from my break:

 

London:

St. Paul's taken from Millennium Bridge

St. Paul’s taken from Millennium Bridge

Art in Tate Modern

Art in Tate Modern

A furry monster who wanted to just hug everyone on Carnaby Street for free

A furry monster who wanted to just hug everyone on Carnaby Street for free

Costumes at the V & A Museum

Costumes at the V & A Museum

Northampton:

I took Katie to Northampton’s only museum, the Shoe Museum. The town is famous for making shoes, including Dr Marten’s.

A shoe at Northampton shoe museum

A shoe at Northampton shoe museum

My dog Bonnie is also addicted to Breaking Bad

My dog Bonnie is also addicted to Breaking Bad

I also made cake.

Victoria Sandwich with Rose Flavour Butter Cream Icing

Victoria Sandwich with Rose Flavour Butter Cream Icing

Cake Pops for New Year's Eve

Cake Pops for New Year’s Eve

Oxford:

Flooding of the River Thames in Oxford

Flooding of the River Thames in Oxford

Big T-Rex at Oxford Museum

Big T-Rex at Oxford Museum

T-Rex at Oxford Natural History Museum

T-Rex at Oxford Natural History Museum

Windsor:

Windsor Castle in the Late Afternoon

Windsor Castle in the Late Afternoon

Swans in Windsor

Swans in Windsor

Finally now I am back in Prague. On Wednesday I am going traveling in Eastern Europe for 10 days. I’m sure I will have lots of photos to share. I’m going to Croatia, Bosnia, Serbia, Montenegro, Bulgaria and Turkey. Then in February Berlin and Budapest again.

I have moved out of halls of residence in Prague and into a new flat which I share with a group of Erasmus students, girls from France, Belgium and Germany. I absolutely hated halls of residence because it was very cold, far away from the city and took sometimes 1 hour and a half hours to get home at night (and Prague is a lot smaller than London), and the people at the hall started to write horrible notes about Erasmus students making mess. It was awful.

Also there is a small ginger kitten called Pivo living in my new flat. ‘Pivo’ is the word for ‘beer’ in Czech. Meet Pivo:

Pivo the Czech kitten

Pivo the Czech kitten

Happy belated New Year! 🙂

Leave a Reply

